Howdy from Texas

Please introduce yourself with a short post describing why you joined our forum, and your interest in recording, audio, etc...

Moderators: Arny, dbbubba

Howdy from Texas

Postby gtruchel » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:37 pm

My name is Grady and I'm an analog person? Crap. I don't know how you say this. I recently bought an Ampex 8 track. Also thinking of getting another tape machine or 2. I used to own a JH-16 that now lives in Nashville with a good friend of mine. I found this board while searching for info on my Ampex. I am a web developer and IT sys admin by day but spent many years working in studios and sound reinforcement. Had a commercial room of my own until about 2004 when I moved what was left(including the JH16) to my home. I use a 16 channel DDA and also have a little Alice I just finished rebuilding. the Alice now has a power supply issue and that makes me sad. :cry: I love older analog gear and nothing makes me sadder than a tape machine that's not being used. Glad to be here!
gtruchel
Intern

Re: Howdy from Texas

Postby brianroth » Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:36 am

Welcome Grady...I'm one of the admins here...from Oklahoma...and maybe I can be of assistance re. your Ampex. What model is your machine?

Best,

Bri
brianroth
Producer

Postby gtruchel » Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:41 am

It is an MM1100 8 track. A later model with the newer counter. It's lovely but I still need to get an MRL and some spares so I can always keep it going. I had always wanted an Ampex even back when I bought my JH16. I'm also looking into purchasing a 440 or 2 in the near future so I'm sure I will need a bit of help. I believe we have spoken back when I bought the JH16. I enjoyed talking with you back then. I'm sure I'll have a lot of things to discuss about analog with you in the future. Thanks!
gtruchel
Intern

Postby dbbubba » Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:36 pm

Hey, hey! Where in Texas are you?
I'm in Rockwall just east of Dallas.